Paint Chip Crafting

Today I did some errands with the hubby and came home with these.

DSCF1559

 

And these little beauties!

DSCF1561
(no I didn’t just take paint chips, we are thinking of a little spring spruce up)

Can you see where I’m going with this?

Oh yes…paint chip bookmark time!!

Here’s how I made mine.

First I picked two chips I liked together. one with cutouts, one without, and laid them on top of each other.

DSCF1562

 

Then I cut out a bookmark sized strip out of the top chip.

DSCF1564

I did the same thing with the background chip and stuck them together with double sided tape.

DSCF1567

You can choose complimentary colors or with similar colors, and finish them off by punching a hole in the top and adding a ribbon.

DSCF1583

I have a short attention span, so after a couple bookmarks I lost interest šŸ˜‰

After perusing the interwebs, I found this…

How to Make Boxes From Paint Swatches from How About Orange

paint-chip-boxes-stack

 

The instructions say to cut your chip to a 5″x5″ size. Problem was mine was about 4″x4.5″.

Whomp, whomp.

Oh well. I looked at the instructions again and figured out that I just needed to make the center section 2″ so I made a 4″ squarre and figured the box just wouldn’t be as deep.

After you do that you just need to mark 1″ from each side so you end up with a 2″ square in the middle. I scored the lines, cut notches and attached double sided tape to the tabs.

DSCF1572
DSCF1573
DSCF1574

DSCF1575

After that just stick that sucker together. Do the same for the cover except the inner square should be slightly bigger.

Or not.

DSCF1577

Um…yeah.

Measure carefully people.

Good news is I managed to make one that worked!

 

DSCF1579

 

So..three wins and one fail…not bad!

 

Leave a Reply

