Christmas Cookies-Cheater Edition

Sorry I haven’t been posting much but, you know…CHRISTMAS.

I haven’t been crafting much but I have been shopping and wrapping and baking.

A LOT.

Even though I love baking, I’m totally down with cheating.

I make many recipes based around cake mixes (these work with both regular and gluten free cake mixes), cookie mixes and canned frosting. I also like making candy in the microwave. Heck, I don’t even OWN  a candy thermometer!

Everyone loves them so shhhhh! Don’t tell…OK?

Anyway…here is a little sampling of some of the stuff I usually make…

DSCF0421
S
tarting at 12 o’clock and going clockwise…cranberry bars, microwave cashew brittle and lemon crinkles.

The cashew brittle recipe came from Taste of Home and I have been using it for years. The only caveat I have is too make sure you cook it enough after you add the nuts and butter. It says 20-50sec but when I did it that long the brittle didn’t…brittle. I learned I had to cook it more like 1:30 but do it 30 sec at a time and watch for the color.

The lemon crinkles are a variation of cake mix cookies, which are soooo simple! I add 2 eggs and 1/3 C oil to a lemon cake mix and combine. Then roll into walnut sized balls, roll in powdered sugar and bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Once they are cooled melt 1/2 of a can of lemon frosting and drizzle over the cookies and let cool again.

The cranberry bars are a take on Lazy Cake Cookies from I’m a Lazy Mom. I add white chocolate chips and dried cranberries to the bars. Then I used canned cream cheese frosting and add chopped up dried cranberries and orange zest to it.

Here is another example of what I have been baking…

DSCF0414
Again starting at noon we have rice krispie treats with Christmas sprinkles, chocolate lazy cake cookies with white and semi sweet chocolate chips, vanilla lazy cake cookies with semi sweet chocolate chips and red velvet sandwich cookies.

I think they are all pretty self explanatory except the red velvet. There I used red velvet cake mix and made them the same way as the lemon, minus the rolling in sugar and the frosting glaze. Then I used canned cream cheese frosting as filling and rolled the edges in Christmas sprinkles.

These I made for friends, which is why they are packed up like that)…

1480749_10202076548629327_1295994205_n
T
his time we will start in the upper right. We have peppermint chocolate rice krispie treats, molasses crinkles and Christmas Lazy Cake cookies.

For the rice krispie treats you just use peppermint marshmallows and then top with melted dark chocolate chips (in the microwave-30 sec at a time until melted) that you drizzle over the top before cutting.

What makes the Cake Cookies “Christmas” is a bag of these suckers:

toll-house-nestle-limited-edition-semi-sweet-holiday-morsels-283g-bag.-19851-p

That’s it. They are basically a mix of colored white chocolate chips and chocolate chips and they look so festive! My oldest looks forward to these every year…she even claims they taste better then regular chips. I don’t know about that but they are pretty great!

Lastly there are these babies.

DSCF0275

They aren’t terribly Christmassy but they are easy! They are made from Bisquick and you can find the recipe here. Like the other recipes they work with either regular Bisquick and the gluten free version. I haven’t tested the healthy kind, but who wants healthy cookies?


What about the molasses crinkles you ask? Now those are made from scratch. From a family recipe. Which I can’t share under penalty of death…well, maybe not death, but it wouldn’t go over well so…sorry.

I think I’ve given you plenty to work with though.

And remember, the mixes are our little secret!

Leave a Reply

