Christmas Light Jar

There was a time in my life when i had a huge glass jar that lived on my kitchen table. I would fill said jar with various things like silk lilacs in the spring, colorful leaves in the fall, sparkly skulls at Halloween and of course Christmas ornaments in December. I haven’t used my jar since the boy got older and we started using the kitchen table for homeschool work and frankly, I had forgotten about it.

That is until hubby cleaned out the junk cabinet (yes, we have a junk cabinet) and found it. It was a bit worse for the wear, dusty and full of seeds (don’t ask) but we cleaned it up and I decided to use it again for Christmas decorating!

To get ideas I perused Pinterest and found several ideas like this:

jar

and this:

jar3

(both of which linked to a picture)

and this:

jar2

from Prairie Flower Farm  

That last one included potpourri in the jar and fresh cut branches. When you plug the lights in the heat of the bulbs releases the scent.

I wasn’t sure about the idea of potpourri, but I did like the idea of more than just lights in the jar.

In the end I decided to put some silk flowers and a few Christmas balls in with plain white lights.

DSCF0252

 

Project prep!

I had silk holly sprigs, silk white poinsettias, a few sparkly ornaments and a string of 20 white lights.

I just kind of layered in the light and the flowers, sort of spiraling the lights up the sides of the jar.

DSCF0257

 

I quickly found that some of the wire stems were too long. That was quickly remedied!

DSCF0258

Once I had the thing all stuffed I plugged in the string of lights.

Right away I noticed that some stems were showing, so I pulled a few things out and rearranged until they didn’t anymore.

 

DSCF0265

 

It was hard to get the light right.

DSCF0264

 

I wish there  was a way to make it so the cord didn’t hang out the side, but overall I am happy with it!

DSCF0269

Leave a Reply

