Foodie Pen Pal November Reveal!

This was the first time I participated in the Foodie Pen Pals  program and it was really fun! FPP is run by Lindsey at the The Lean Green Bean and she does a great job.  Basically you get paired with someone and agree to send them a package of food items. You have to ship by the 15th of the month and post a reveal at the end of the month. I was paired with Millie from Georgia. Millie contacted me because I was a loser and took too long, and after a few e-mails back and forth I sent her a package.

If you are interested I list what was in Millie’s box at the bottom of the post.

I don’t believe that Millie blogs, but she did send me this lovely note!

DSCF9992

I was so excited to get my box in the mail and Millie did an awesome job!

DSCF9993

Just look at all this yum!

DSCF9994

Angus is intrigued.

All these were new to me, except of course for the Lara Bar. I was very excited to try all these snacks!

Snapea Crisps:
Honestly these weren’t my favorite (I have a bit of a pea aversion) but the kids loved them! As in, I had rip them away from my son so my daughter could try them. Anything that can get my extremely picky…er…particular 15yo son to eat veggies is a very good thing!

Zico Coconut Water:
This was chocolate flavored which I wasn’t sure about but it was yummy! I poured a bit for the kids and it got the thumbs up from my oldest, who said it tasted like YooHoo. The boy didn’t like it but that didn’t surprise me. The youngest daughter refused to try which also didn’t surprise me.

Kind Bar in  pomegranate blueberry pistachio:
We fought over this, it was awesome! Will definitely be buying more of these!

Lara Bar in Cashew Cookie:
My fav! This one went on my trip with me 🙂

Crunchmaster Multi Seed crackers:
The youngest daughter enjoyed these a bunch! She took these on our road trip 🙂 The other s liked them too, and so did I but we let her have most of them. I did steal a few for my pub cheese though, and they were delicious!

Justin’s Nut Butters in Maple Almond and Chocolate Hazelnut:
These were yummy! I had never had them before and am glad I got to try them! Oldest was happy because hazelnut/chocolate and youngest was happy because gluten and dairy free. Son wouldn’t try them. He was being a wet rag about trying new things, except for the Snapea Crisps. I don’t understand that kid sometimes! But hey, more for the rest of us!

Thank you so much Millie! We had a blast with the box you sent!!

Now the deets:

xblogbadgeSTAMP.jpg.pagespeed.ic.S_muhYHZmS

-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treatsThe spending limit is $15The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
– Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & European residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!

Millie’s box contained the following:

Bar Harbor Soldier Beans
Wicked Whoopie Pie (mint flavor)
Lara Bars in cashew cookie and apple pie flavor
Moxie
Annie’s Kettle Corn
Maple Candies similar to these
Walker’s Shortbread

(I forgot to take a picture…oops!)

Leave a Reply

