Tree in a Jar

I really wanted to do another Mason jar craft. After looking over Pinterest I decided on this one:

A Blog Entry Portrait-004

from Seeing Ink Spots.

However when I went to assemble my supplies I realized I was out of the big mason jars. I did have little jelly jars though. No problem, I’ll just make a little tree!

Here we go!

DSCF0002

Since everything was going to be in miniature I decided to skip the spool base and attach the tree directly to the cover. I was going to use epsom salt for “snow” but apparently the bag I had of it is gone. Plan B was to make some spider web snow cover. I also dug out the silver glitter hairspray which I planned to spray the “snow” with.

First I cut some trunks from the silver pipe cleaners and branches from the green ones.

DSCF0005

Then I attached the branches to the trunk…

DSCF0006

and attached it to the cover.

DSCF0007

Then I covered the inside of the cover with webbing snow…

DSCF0008

and sprayed it all with glitter, including the inside of the jar.

I had to trim the tree. Trim as in cut the branches not decorate them. The snow is all bunched up from the cover being screwed on.

DSCF0015

This is it with the cover on.

DSCF0016DSCF0018

Yah…not so cute.

I like the idea of this, and I’m sure it would have come out better full sized. I may actually try again when I have a bigger jar and more pipe cleaners but for now? Definitely a fail.

Leave a Reply

