Halloween Lantern Jars

Time for another Halloween craft!

This time I picked these Halloween Decoupage jars from Taste of Home.

lantern_300

Cute, no?

I dug out my Mod Podge, found a jar and picked up some Halloween themed tissue paper.

DSCF9730

Then I cut the tissue paper of choice into strips…

DSCF9731

slathered that jar up with Mod Podge…

DSCF9733

and stuck the paper on there.

DSCF9734

As you can see, there wasn’t good stickage where the strips of tissue paper overlapped.  I tried to fix that with my top coat of Mod Podge,

DSCF9735

After coating that jar I realized it might be too dark to be an effective lantern. Plus I wanted to try and make one with a face so I went in search of another jar and found this little guy.

DSCF9736

and covered it with the orange-ish tissue.

DSCF9737

Next I printed off some faces from the Taste of Home website, cut them out and Mod Podged them on.

DSCF9738

Isn’t it cute?

I left them to dry overnight and this was the finished product!

DSCF9744DSCF9745

This was a pretty easy project except for the part where you smooth out the tissue paper. That part didn’t go so well. I also ended up covered in Mod Podge but that could have been me. My fine motor skills are not the best if truth be told. The top edges were difficult for me too. I had to apply more Mod Podge in the morning to neaten them up.

DSCF9741

As you can see the candy corn jar is not too dark for the light to shine through, although the jar got very hot after just a few minutes so I’m not sure that using it for a candle holder is such a great idea. The Jack-o-Lantern was fine, but then I was just burning a birthday candle in it. I think I will try a tea light in that one later and just plan on putting candy in the other one! I also didn’t like how obvious the parts where the tissue paper overlapped were.

Frankly I thought they came out OK…it worked but not something I’d display for company or give as gifts or anything. If I were to try again (and I just might) I would be more careful when overlapping and with the top edge.

Cute?

DSCF9740

Not so much. Also messy and a possible fire hazard.

Leave a Reply

