Creamy Cauliflower “Alfredo” Sauce

I found this recipe at Pinch of Yum. Doesn’t it look delicious?

Cauliflower-Sauce-31

Well I thought so and I decide to make some!

I didn’t take many pictures but I did get one of the finished sauce. You’ll see that later.

First I gathered all the ingredients:
cauliflower
veggie broth
milk
butter
garlic
Parmesan cheese
Pepper

(now this is supposed to be “healthy” but looking at the ingredients except that there are veggies, not so much)

Anyway…I broke/cut up the cauliflower, put the veggie broth in my stock pot and set it a ‘simmerin.

(another note here, it calls for 6-7 cups of veggie broth to cook the cauliflower in but that seemed a lot of broth to toss so I did 1/2 water)

While that was going I melted my butter and cooked my garlic (from a jar, I don’t have the time or fine motor skills to chop garlic). You have to watch this carefully or the garlic and butter can burn. Guess what? I didn’t and so I had to throw away a crapload of burned butter and garlic. Sad face. After re-doing that step the cauliflower was def done so I turned the heat off the butter and got to pureeing!

Here’s where I hit the second snafu of the evening. I don’t have a blender. I do have a Kitchen Ninja, which I love, but it’s on the small size. Also, I found out that if you fill it too full when you push the cover down hot liquid will shoot out the space around where to blade spindle thingy sticks out the top and burn the shit out of your hand. It also makes a farting noise which seems funny until molten cauliflower liquid hits your skin. Also pureeing all that cauliflower took, like five batches which was a pain.

Once I was done I turned the heat back up on the garlic, added the puree, pepper and cheese and stirred whilst it heated through. It looked and smelled AWESOME! We served it over pasta with more cheese.

DSCF9536

It was pretty good but did not taste like Alfredo. It wasn’t nearly as smooth as the recipe claimed but that may have been the fault of me and my 3rd degree burns. Also later in the recipe it says that adding olive oil will help with that so I may try that next time.

And there will be a next time, although I don’t think as a pasta sauce. Maybe with rice or some kind of casserole…we will see!

Leave a Reply

